TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) - A bill has been signed into Kansas law that abolishes the statute of limitations for prosecuting rape cases, eliminating the five-year time frame.
Republican Gov. Sam Brownback signed the bill Monday, and takes effect July 1.
Kansas is among 10 states that required rape cases to be prosecuted within five years.
The new law also allows for prosecution of a sexually violent crime within 10 years if the victim is at least 18 years old.
"It holds people accountable and it is a win, win for people within the criminal justice system," said Steve Howe the Johnson County District Attorney.
For younger victims, prosecution would begin within one year of the date the suspect is identified through DNA testing, or within 10 years of the victim's 18th birthday, whichever is later.
Rape victims say the change in the law helps them with their healing after the crime.
Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.
Negotiations on Capitol Hill have yielded a modest budget agreement to ease automatic spending cuts and replace some of them with savings from future-year cuts.