Hickman Mills School Board president ousted

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The president of the Hickman Mills School Board was ousted during a meeting Thursday night.

In a surprise move, the board voted to remove Breman Anderson 4-3, and elected board member Eric Lowe as the new president.

When Anderson found out voting on leadership changes had been added to the agenda, he was hesitant to move forward. The board voted 4-3 to proceed with the new agenda, despite legal counsel that the proper notice had not been given about the changes. Lowe said the agenda was modified in time, despite Anderson not being aware of the addition.

Superintendent Dr. Dennis Carpenter announced a new set of district leaders had been hired at the Thursday night meeting. Carpenter, the fourth superintendent in Hickman Mills in 10 months, had told some leaders they would have to reapply for their jobs in March.

The positions announced Thursday night are:

Executive director of operations, Steven Myers
Executive director of human resources, Delilah Norris
Executive director of special services, Dr. Christina Sneed
Director of media relations and community affairs, Ebony Walker
Director of technology and learning systems, Dr. Arla Munroe
Director of instructional technology, Adam Phyall
Principal of Ingles Elementary, Shonda Fowler
Principal of Burke Elementary, Dr. Michael Camp
Principal of Smith-Hale Middle School, Dr. Hayek Woods
Principal of Hickman Mills Junior High School, Tracy McLean
Principal of Ruskin High School, Jesse Rivers

Print this article Back to Top