Johnson County Deputies: We're cracking down on illegal fireworks

JOHNSON COUNTY, Kan. - Some local communities will start allowing residents to use fireworks Wednesday, including Kansas City, Kan., and Desoto.

Others, including Johnson County, have an outright ban on fireworks. In Johnson County, officers and deputies plan to be extra vigilant to make sure people are not breaking the law.

Every year, ATF shows people just how dangerous the most basic fireworks can be, including sparklers, snakes and poppers.

This year, Johnson County Deputies will respond to complaints and patrol various areas looking for anyone breaking the rules. A fine will range in cost between $25 and $100 bucks.

Jill Koch with the Johnson County Sheriff's Office says you don't want her or one of her fellow officers to crash your party.

"Fireworks by and large are banned in Johnson County. We want everyone to know that going in and that way we have a wonderful holiday celebration and we are not on the guest list,” she said.

Last year, Koch said, the 911 center in Johnson County received 173 calls complaining about fireworks from July 3-5. Deputies issued two citations, but Koch said deputies use the first call to educate residents on the fireworks ban and ask for compliance.

In 2010, fireworks caused 15,000 fires and injured more than 8,000 people.

Johnson County residents should review these rules before the holiday:

•         Fireworks are not allowed in cities of Fairway, Gardner, Lake Quivira, Leawood, Merriam, Mission, Mission Hills, Mission Woods, Olathe, Overland Park, Prairie Village, Roeland Park, Westwood, or Westwood Hills.

•         Edgerton permits the use of fireworks between 10 a.m. and 10 p.m. on July 3 and from 10 a.m. to midnight on July 4. Sale of fireworks began on June 27 and ends on July 4 from 8 a.m. to midnight.

•         De Soto restricts use of fireworks to three days—from 10 a.m. to 10 p.m. July 2 and 3, and from 10 a.m. to midnight July 4. Firework sales are allowed from June 29 to July 4 from 8 a.m. to 10 p.m.

•         Sale of fireworks in Spring Hill from 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. started June 27, ending July 5. Use of fireworks is permitted from July 1-5 from 8 a.m. to 11 p.m.

•         Lenexa bans all aerial and exploding fireworks, but allows some fireworks, such as snakes, smoke bombs, sparklers, and caps.

•         Shawnee allows only snakes and caps, but no sparklers.

Print this article Back to Top