KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Kansas and Missouri both have laws requiring sex offenders to register with authorities. However, they each have different laws about what exactly that requires.
In Kansas, the Kansas Bureau of Investigation maintains the database. In the Sunflower State, sex offenders along with some drug and violent offenders have to register.
If you search the KBI database by “map view,” you can see where those registered offenders live. However, in Kansas there is no restriction where those offenders can live.
Missouri does have restriction. According to state law, sex offenders are not allowed within 1000 feet of a school and 500 feet of a day care facility.
However, Missouri only registers sex offenders and so the website map view does not contain information about any other criminals who may live in the area.
You can check for sex offenders in Kansas here.
You can check for sex offenders in Missouri here.
Make sure you select the “map” or “geographical” view in order to search by address.