Kansas City awarded 14 NCAA championship bids

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Kansas City has been awarded 14 NCAA championship bids between 2014-17, officials announced Tuesday afternoon.

They are as follows:

Division I:

Men's soccer, 2015 – Sporting Park

Women's volleyball, 2017 – Sprint Center

Division II:

Football, 2014-2017 – Sporting Park

Men's and Women's Soccer, 2016 and 2017 – Swope Soccer Village

Division III:

Men's & Women's Soccer, 2014 and 2015 – Swope Soccer Village

This is the NCAA's biggest bidding event in its history.

The Sports Commission held a watch party as the announcements were revealed online.

The commission's president, Kathy Nelson, said each event means millions of dollars in economic impact to Kansas City.

Kathy Nelson, President of the KC Sports Commission, said today's awarded bids go beyond sports.

"It's people in our city purchasing food and beverage, buying clothes in retail shops," she said. "That impact is felt."

The bid for NCAA basketball will happen next year.

Print this article Back to Top