Kansas GOP leaders back Pat Roberts' return to U.S. Senate

TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) - The honorary committee formed by Pat Roberts for his U.S. Senate re-election campaign in 2014 includes fellow Republican statewide elected officials and the rest of the Kansas congressional delegation.

Roberts' campaign announced Thursday that Gov. Sam Brownback and Sen. Jerry Moran will serve as the committee's co-chairmen. Others on board are Lt. Gov. Jeff Colyer, Attorney General Derek Schmidt, State Treasurer Ron Estes and Secretary of State Kris Kobach.

The committee also includes the state's four U.S. House members -- Tim Huelskamp, Lynn Jenkins, Mike Pompeo and Kevin Yoder.

The list suggests that Roberts won't face a serious challenge within the GOP from another elected official.

The 76-year-old Roberts was first elected to the Senate in 1996 and is seeking his fourth term.

Print this article Back to Top