Garth Brooks or Journey? New contest allows Royals' fans decide on sixth inning sing-along song

In February, we reported it was ‘so-long Garth Brooks’ when the Kansas City Royals said they’d no longer be playing “Friends in Low Places” during the sixth inning. But have we jumped the gun? Maybe so.

The Royals are now asking fans to help select the 2014 sixth inning sing-along song at Kauffman Stadium. (So if fans really want Garth, they can have Garth.)

The contest is called Play It Forward, and fans will have 32 songs to pick from. During each home game, fans will be able to vote for one of two song featured during that particular game. Fans must be present at the game to hear the voting instructions. Votes are limited to one per fan.

The winning tune will be revealed on June 7.

Here are your choices.

Friday, April 4 – 3:10 p.m. vs. Chicago White Sox

All Star by Smash Mouth vs. Born to Run by Bruce Springsteen

Saturday, April 5 – 1:10 p.m. vs. Chicago White Sox

Brown Eyed Girl by Van Morrison vs. Burning Love by Elvis Presley

Sunday, April 6 – 1:10 p.m. vs. Chicago White Sox

Centerfield by John Fogerty vs. Dancing Queen by ABBA

Monday, April 7 – 7:10 p.m. vs. Tampa Bay Rays

Don’t Stop Believin’ by Journey vs. Friends in Low Places by Garth Brooks

Tuesday, April 8 – 7:10 p.m. vs. Tampa Bay Rays

Get Down Tonight by KC and the Sunshine Band vs. I Feel Fine by The Beatles

Wednesday, April 9 – 1:10 p.m. vs. Tampa Bay Rays

I Gotta Feeling by The Black Eyed Peas vs. I Want You to Want Me by Cheap Trick

Friday, April 18 – 7:10 p.m. vs. Minnesota Twins

I Will Survive by Gloria Gaynor vs. Kansas City by The Beatles

Saturday, April 19 – 1:10 p.m. vs. Minnesota Twins

Kansas City by Fats Domino vs. Livin’ on a Prayer by Bon Jovi

Sunday, April 20 – 1:10 p.m. vs. Minnesota Twins

Louie, Louie by The Kingsmen vs. Minnie the Moocher by Cab Calloway

Tuesday, April 29 – 7:10 p.m. vs. Toronto Blue Jays

My Girl by The Temptations vs. Old Time Rock & Roll by Bob Seger

Wednesday, April 30 – 7:10 p.m. vs. Toronto Blue Jays

R.O.C.K. in the U.S.A. by John Mellencamp vs. Ring of Fire by Johnny Cash

Thursday, May 1 – 7:10 p.m. vs. Toronto Blue Jays

Rock and Roll All Nite by KISS vs. Small Town by John Mellencamp

Friday, May 2 – 7:10 p.m. vs. Detroit Tigers

Summer of ‘69 by Bryan Adams vs. Sweet Caroline by Neil Diamond

Saturday, May 3 – 6:10 p.m. vs. Detroit Tigers

Twist and Shout by The Beatles vs. WWalk of Life by Dire Straits

Sunday, May 4 – 1:10 p.m. vs. Detroit Tigers

We Will Rock You by Queen vs. I Won’t Back Down by Tom Petty

Tuesday, May 13 – 7:10 p.m. vs. Colorado Rockies

You Belong With Me by Taylor Swift vs. 1999 by Prince

Print this article Back to Top

Comments