Boston Marathon winner Mebrahtom Keflezighi is former U.S Olympian

BOSTON, Mass. - One year after the devastating Boston Marathon bombings, Mebrahtom Keflezighi is the first American to win the men’s race since 1983.

Just over halfway through the race, Keflezighi had a minute lead over the rest of the men’s race runners, including defending champion Lelisa Desisa of Ethiopia.

Keflezighi finished in an unofficial time of 2:08.37. The last American men’s winner was Greg Meyer in 1983.

The last 12 men’s Boston Marathon titles have been won by a runner from Ethiopia or Kenya.

The 38-year-old was an Olympic silver medalist in 2004, and in 2009 was the first American man to win the New York City Marathon since 1982.

Originally from Eritrea, Keflezighi lives in California.

Rita Jeptoo, of Kenya, defended her title in the women’s race, winning with a time of 2:18.57, which is a course record.

This year’s Boston Marathon featured nearly 36,000 racers, including the 5,000 or so left on the course last year after the bombings who were given an opportunity this year to finish.

Print this article Back to Top