KU basketball lands on all three of NCAA's 'best of' lists celebrating 75 years of March Madness

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) - Let the arguments begin.

The NCAA, as part of the celebration of the 75th anniversary of March Madness, has released lists of the top players, teams and moments to help fans as they vote for those to be honored at the Final Four.

The University of Kansas appears at least once on all three lists, with three players, one team and one moment.

READ | Click here to see all three lists: http://tinyurl.com/aknwnpo

The NCAA said Tuesday that the fan voting, which will start in early January at NCAA.com/MarchMadness, will trim the list of 75 players to 15, and the 25 teams and 35 moments will be cut to one each.

The KU players are Clyde Lovellette, Wilt Chamberlain and Danny Manning. The team on list is Lovellett's 1952 title team and the moment is KU's 2008 come-from-behind victory in the national championship game.

The lists were compiled and researched by the NCAA's basketball and statistics staffs, which consulted with the NCAA's media partners and selected members of the U.S. Basketball Writers Association.

CBS Sports, CBS Sports Network and CBSSports.com, in conjunction with the NCAA, will air original programming commemorating 75 years of March Madness.

Print this article Back to Top