9 things to know about the Sweet 16

It's time to go dancing: the Sweet 16 starts Thursday night. For NCAA fans who want to drop some extra knowledge on your friends during commercial breaks, Superfan Larry Smith, an anchor at our sister station WCPO in Cincinnati, rounds up nine interesting facts about this year's teams.

1. Ten of the 16 head coaches weren't even born the last time La Salle reached the Sweet 16 in 1955.

2. According to Sports Illustrated , sales of men's apparel at the Florida Gulf Coast University bookstore are up 686 percent from this time last year.

3. This is the first time Michigan and Michigan State have been in the Sweet 16 in the same year.

4. Twelve of the 16 teams have won NCAA championships, from Oregon in 1939 to Duke in 2010.

5. There are four Big Ten teams in the Sweet 16 for the second year in a row.

6. There are an unprecedented three teams from the state of Florida in the Sweet 16.

7. Six coaches have already won NCAA championships: Mike Krzyzewski of Duke; Florida's Billy Donovan; Bill Self of Kansas; Rick Pitino of Louisville; Michigan State's Tom Izzo; and, Jim Boeheim of Syracuse.

8. There are at least five players whose dads played in the NBA: Tim Hardaway Jr., John Horford (Tito), and Glenn Robinson III of Michigan; Seth Curry (Dell) of Duke; and Ohio State's Shannon Scott (Charlie).

9. This is the fourth year in a row that at least three double-digit seeds (#12 Oregon, #13 LaSalle, and #15 Florida Gulf Coast) have reached the Sweet 16.

Print this article Back to Top