Entire state of Missouri designated primary natural disaster area

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. - The United States Department of Agriculture announced Tuesday that all 114 counties in the state of Missouri have been designated as primary natural disaster areas.

The designation will mean farmers throughout the state affected by the heat and drought will have access to low-interest loans and other assistance from the federal government, Mo. Gov. Jay Nixon said in a statement.

"This designation can help livestock and crop farmers across the state who are suffering great losses because of the heat and lack of rain," Nixon said. "We're going to continue to stand with farmers during this ongoing disaster and afterward, to help with their recovery. This designation is another part of that process."
Nixon is surveying damage at farms in Lewis, Atchison and Polk counties today.

A disaster designation allows eligible farmers to be considered for assistance from the USDA Farm Service Agency, including FSA emergency loans.

Farmers are encouraged to keep an eye on crops and livestock, as well as document any losses or additional costs incurred because of the heat and drought, which is often required for loan assistance from the FSA and other programs.

On July 11, the USDA designated 82 Kansas counties as disaster areas. More on the Kansas counties can be found here: http:// www.ksda.gov/news/id/472

Print this article Back to Top