12 ex-lawmakers seek return to Kan. Legislature

TOPEKA, Kan. - A dozen former Kansas lawmakers are trying to return to the Legislature in the Nov. 6 general election.

Most are Democrats, and half of them are former Democratic House members who lost their seats two years ago when conservative Republican Gov. Sam Brownback swept into office.

The group also includes Dennis McKinney, Greensburg, who served 16 years in the House and became its minority leader before a two-year stint as state treasurer. He lost the treasurer's race in 2010.

McKinney says he thinks voters will find his experience valuable.

His Republican opponent in the 117th House District, John Ewy of Jetmore isn't daunted. Ewy says he respects McKinney but has garnered a lot of trust among voters himself as a lifelong resident of the area

Print this article Back to Top