Fiscal Cliff: How they voted in Kansas & Missouri

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - With the bill meant to avoid the country from falling off the so-called fiscal cliff awaiting the president's signature, we wanted to give you an idea of how the politicians from Kansas and Missouri voted.

In the Senate vote early Tuesday, all four senators (Roberts and Moran from Kansas, McCaskill and Blunt from Missouri) voted in favor of the bill. Roberts, Moran and Blunt are Republican. McCaskill is the only Democratic senator from either state.

In Tuesday night's House of Representatives vote, all four of Kansas' congressmen (Huselskamp, Jenkins, Yoder, Pompeo) voted against the bill. All four of Kansas' congressmen are Republican.

In Missouri, the vote, like the party delegation among the congressmen, was a little more split.

Five of the Show-Me State's nine congressmen voted in favor of the bill. They include Democrats William Clay Jr., Russ Carnahan and Emanuel Cleaver, as well as Republicans Jo Ann Emerson and Blaine Luetkemeyer.

Three Republican congressmen - Todd Akin, Vicky Hartzler and Billy Long – voted against it. Republican Sam Graves did not vote.

Print this article Back to Top