Nixon requests drought disaster relief for 114 Missouri counties

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Gov. Nixon has requested that 114 Missouri counties be designated as agricultural disaster areas, according to a statement released from the Governor's office.

The request comes after the Farm Service Agency assessed the damage to crops across the state caused by extreme drought.

The agency found that several counties met the disaster threshold by losing at least 30 percent of their estimated crop yield, according to the statement.

The designation would allow farmers in those counties to receive assistance from the USDA's Farm Service Agency, including emergency loans.

Print this article Back to Top