SportsFootballKansas City Chiefs


2 former Chiefs among 25 Hall of Fame semifinalists

2 former Chiefs among 25 Hall of Fame semifinalists
Posted at 7:58 PM, Nov 20, 2018
and last updated 2018-11-20 20:58:30-05

First-year eligible Tony Gonzalez, Ed Reed and Champ Bailey are among 25 semifinalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

In all, 13 defensive players, nine on offense and three coaches -- Jimmy Johnson, Tom Flores and Don Coryell -- made the cut.

Making it to the semifinals for the first time, although previously eligible, are Flores and linebacker Zach Thomas.

Already finalists for the hall are contributors Gil Brandt and Pat Bowlen, and senior committee nominee Johnny Robinson.

The 25 modern-day finalists from an original group of 103 will be reduced to 15 on Jan. 3. The selection meeting will be Feb. 2, the day before the Super Bowl, in Atlanta.

Inductions will be on Aug. 3 at the Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio.

The semifinalists:

  • Steve Atwater, safety
  • Champ Bailey, cornerback
  • Ronde Barber, cornerback/safety
  • Tony Boselli, tackle
  • Isaac Bruce, wide receiver
  • LeRoy Butler, safety
  • Don Coryell, coach
  • Alan Faneca, guard
  • Tom Flores, coach
  • Tony Gonzalez, tight end
  • Torry Holt, wide receiver
  • Steve Hutchinson, guard
  • Edgerrin James, running back
  • Jimmy Johnson, coach
  • Ty Law, cornerback
  • John Lynch, safety
  • Clay Matthews, linebacker
  • Kevin Mawae, center/guard
  • Karl Mecklenburg, linebacker
  • Sam Mills, linebacker
  • Ed Reed, safety
  • Richard Seymour, defensive lineman
  • Zach Thomas, linebacker
  • Hines Ward, wide receiver
  • Darren Woodson, safety

The 4th and 1 Chiefs podcast is published once a week during the off-season.