KC-area athletes, coaches awarded Honorary ESPYs

Kansas City Chiefs v Chicago Bears
Posted at 11:20 PM, Jun 18, 2020
and last updated 2020-06-19 00:20:03-04

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. — The ESPYs came to Kansas City for the first time since the inception of the award as Sports Radio 810 teamed up with ESPN to honor local athletes and coaches along with other inspirational people in the world of sports in select cities.

The winners of the Honorary ESPYs were announced Thursday, including one for Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes for the Clutch Performance of the Year.

His coach, Andy Reid, won the Champions Leadership Award.

Former Chiefs punter Dustin Colquitt also snagged the Humanitarian Hometown Hero Award, while the Kansas City Fan of the Year went to 101-year-old Chiefs fan Melba Mills.

After winning the conference for the first time in school history, University of Missouri-Kansas City women's basketball coach Jacie Hoyt is the KC Metro Coach of the Year.

Her star player, Ericka Mattingly, was voted College Female Athlete of the Year.

Former Olathe North and Clemson standout Isaiah Simmons is the College Male Athlete of the Year. He was a first-round draft pick of the Arizona Cardinals in April's NFL Draft.

Taysean Goodwin (Empora State) and Morgan Fleming (Central Missouri) were the Small School College Athletes of the Year.

Grant Calvert of Blue Valley soccer and David Portillo of Guadalupe Centers won the Male High School Athlete of the Year winners in Kansas and Missouri, respectively.

Blue Valley West swimmer Addi Barnes and Blue Springs basketball player Jada Williams were chosen as the Female High School Athlete of the Year winners in Kansas and Missouri, respectively.

Blue Valley High School volleyball was the Kansas City High School Team of the Year after winning the state title, while Joe Rhea won the Perseverance Award.

Finally, Kansas basketball's win over Dayton won the Can't Stop Watching Moment of the Year Award.