NewsLocal News


Disaster declaration for Missouri counties damaged in March

craig missouri flooding
Posted at 11:08 AM, May 21, 2019
and last updated 2019-06-05 12:42:50-04

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — President Donald Trump has declared a major disaster for 13 Missouri counties damaged by March flooding.

The declaration was announced Monday night. Republican Gov. Mike Parson requested the declaration in April, before a second round of flooding earlier this month caused significant damage in eastern Missouri, particularly along the Mississippi River.

The disaster declaration makes federal aid available to help repair roads, bridges and other public infrastructure in areas where severe storms, straight-line winds and floodwaters caused damage between March 11 and April 16.

The relief will go toward repair or replacement in Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Carroll, Chariton, Holt, Mississippi, New Madrid, Pemiscot, Perry, Platte, Ray, and Ste. Genevieve counties.

Most of the counties are in northwestern Missouri, where the Missouri River reached near-record levels in March. A few are in southeast Missouri.

Heavy snow melt from the north and significant spring rains have led to waves of flooding in Missouri. With strong storms predicted through Tuesday, forecasters expect rivers to rise again in the coming days.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.