NewsLocal News


Douglas, Leavenworth among 15 Kansas counties added to federal disaster declaration

Linwood damage
Posted at 5:13 PM, Jun 02, 2019
and last updated 2019-06-02 18:13:58-04

TOPEKA, Kan. — Fifteen more Kansas counties have been added to the list of counties eligible for emergency disaster assistance.

Gov. Laura Kelly announced Saturday that 33 of the state's 105 counties are covered by the federal declaration in response to damage from recent tornadoes.

The designation makes the counties eligible for federal support and resources in addition to state and local help to rebuild from the storm damage.

Counties added to federal list include Allen, Doniphan, Dickinson, Douglas, Geary, Jefferson, Leavenworth, Linn, Lyon, Marshall, Morris, Pottawatomie, Riley, Salina and Wabaunsee.

The 18 counties included in the original federal declaration were Anderson, Butler, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Coffey, Cowley, Crawford, Elk, Franklin, Greenwood, Harvey, Montgomery, Neosho, Osage, Reno, Sumner, Wilson and Woodson.