NewsLocal News


KS Secretary of State announces new Johnson County election commissioner

Posted: 2:05 PM, Feb 21, 2020
Updated: 2020-02-21 15:05:11-05
Johnson County seeks election workers

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Johnson County, Kansas, has a new election commissioner, the Kansas Secretary of State announced Friday.

Connie Schmidt will oversee 2020 elections in Johnson County, with Fred Sherman as deputy election security commissioner.

Sherman will assume the role of election commissioner in January 2021.

Schmidt has more than 30 years of experience, according to the news release, and served as Merriam’s city clerk and Johnson County election commissioner from 1995 to 2004.

She will show Sherman the ropes during 2020 elections, the release said.

“Mr. Sherman has an impressive background in management, finance and government,” Secretary of State Scott Schwab said. “His experience, combined with Ms. Schmidt’s tutelage, will ensure a quality election experience for the residents of Johnson County.”

Sherman has more than 25 years of municipal and county government experience. He’s lived in Johnson County since 1995, according to the release.

Former Johnson County Election Commissioner Ronnie Metsker submitted his resignation in early December 2019.