NewsLocal News


Missouri, Kansas senators among those who oppose Trump impeachment trial

Former President Donald Trump
Posted at 4:27 PM, Feb 09, 2021
and last updated 2021-02-09 17:27:43-05

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Missouri and Kansas legislators representing the Kansas City area were among those who voted against proceeding with the impeachment trial for President Donald Trump.

Republican senators Jerry Moran and Roger Marshall (Kansas) and Missouri’s Josh Hawley and Roy Blunt joined 40 other Republicans opposed to moving ahead with the trial.

The Senate voted 56-44 to push forward.

Marshall tweeted ahead of the vote that the impeachment was unconstitutional and keeps legislators “from doing important work.”

This is a developing story. Check back for updates.