NewsLocal News


Trump impeachment vote: How Missouri, Kansas lawmakers voted in D.C.

President Trump
Posted at 4:09 PM, Jan 13, 2021
and last updated 2021-01-13 17:35:11-05

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Members of the U.S. House of Representatives voted Wednesday to impeach President Donald Trump for his role in the riot at the U.S. Capitol last week.

The vote made Trump the only president in U.S. history to become impeached twice.

The final vote vote was 232 in favor compared with 197 opposed on one article of impeachment against Trump: inciting an insurrection.

In Missouri, two lawmakers voted in favor of impeaching Trump. Here's how all eight members voted:

  • Rep. Cori Bush (D) — Yes
  • Rep. Emanuel Cleaver (D) — Yes
  • Rep. Sam Graves (R) — No
  • Rep. Vicky Hartzler (R) — No
  • Rep. Bill Long (R) — No
  • Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer (R) — No
  • Rep. Jason Smith (R) — No
  • Rep. Ann Wagner (R) — No

Both Graves and Hartzler released statements on why they voted against impeachment.

“Speaker Pelosi’s politically motivated impeachment only further divides a country in need of healing," Graves said in a statement. "We shouldn’t be wasting millions of tax dollars on a last-minute snap impeachment that won’t even be finished before President Trump leaves office."

On Tuesday, Hartzler said in part, "“The forced removal of the President with less than a week remaining in his term is a political theater that the nation can do without. The nation should not be subjected to more animosity simply because Speaker Pelosi seeks to settle a score. I will not be supporting her efforts."

Cleaver released a statement after the vote, saying he had "no choice but to vote for impeachment."

“There is not a single member of Congress who comes to Washington to impeach a President. It is the single most gut-wrenching vote any member will ever have to take because of its immensity in consequence," his statement said in part. "However, we need to send a message to not only the American people, but to people around the globe that we are still the flagship democracy where the rule of law is paramount."

In Kansas, only one representative voted yes:

  • Rep. Sharice Davids (D) — Yes
  • Rep. Ron Estes (R) — No
  • Rep. Jake LaTurner (R) — No
  • Rep. Tracey Mann (R) — No

Davids also took to Twitter to announce her vote to impeach Trump.

"I’m about to head down to the House floor and cast my vote in favor of impeaching Donald Trump. This is not an action I take lightly," she said in the tweet. "But unfortunately, the president has left us with no alternative. He must be removed from office."

On Tuesday, LaTurner said in part, “The focus should be on bringing the criminals that broke into the Capitol to justice and conducting a bipartisan investigation into the security breakdown. Instead, Democrats are choosing to ram through a divisive impeachment while simultaneously mobilizing Big Tech to silence and demonize conservatives."