Democrats flip Missouri State Senate seat

Posted at 8:52 PM, Jun 05, 2018
and last updated 2018-06-06 08:04:07-04

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Missouri State Rep. Lauren Arthur (D-Clay County) won the race to fill the 17th District State Senate seat for the Northland.

Arthur beat State Rep. Kevin Corlew (R-Clay County) with 59.61 percent of the vote. Corlew took 40.28 percent of the vote. 

Final voter turnout for the special election was 20 percent.

Arthur's victory comes in a district that voted overwhelmingly Republican in the last election just two years ago. 

In 2016, Ryan Silvey, a Republican, won the seat with 61 percent of the vote. Silvey left after being appointed to the Missouri Public Service Commission by former Gov. Eric Greitens.