Everything you need to know about the Big 12 tournament

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - It's that time of year again!

Big 12 fans will flood the Sprint Center to see their favorite team take it to the hoop! 

We've got everything you need to know about the big matchups: from parking to special events. 


Teams in the tournament

The Big 12 conference consists of men's basketball teams from Baylor, Iowa State, Kansas, Kansas State, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Texas, Texas Tech, Texas Christian and West Virginia.

Rosters and statistics for each team can be found on the Big 12 website



Tickets went on sale February 10. If you haven’t gotten tickets yet you can purchase them from the Sprint Center website

Tipoff times for the first game of each session are approximately 11:30 a.m., 6 p.m. and 5 p.m. (championship game). Tipoff for the second game of each session will be 30 minutes after the end of the game before.

The Sprint Center opens 90 minutes before tipoff. More tips for ticket holders can be found on the Big 12 website.



It is important to note that streets will be closed for fan fest and other activities around the arena, so check your route before heading to the Sprint Center.

The KC Streetcar will be running its usual route. Parking along the streetcar route is allowed, but vehicles must park within the painted white lines as to not be struck by the streetcar.

Another option is to ride to the Sprint Center on the Metro Area Express (MAX). The stops will be at 12th Street and Grand Blvd for northbound buses and at 11th Street and Grand Boulevard for southbound buses.

schedule can be found at RideKC.org. 

If you’re planning ahead to park in a garage, a new Click and Park reservation system is available. This allows you to prepay for parking in Kansas City’s municipal garages.

All parking maps and road closures can be found at Visit KC.

For road closures, click here



The Championship schedule is as follows: 

First Round - Wednesday, March 8

  • Game 1 - 6 p.m.
  • Game 2 - 8 p.m.

Quarterfinals - Thursday, March 9

  • Game 3 - 11:30 a.m.
  • Game 4 - 1:30 p.m.
  • Game 5 - 6 p.m.
  • Game 6 - 8 p.m.

Semifinals - Friday, March 10 

  • Game 7 - 6 p.m.
  • Game 8 - 8 p.m.

Final Championship - Saturday, March 11

  • Game 9 - 5 p.m.

A bracket with game times can be found here



On March 8-9, pep rallies will take place in the Power and Light District downtown.

Here's the schedule:

Wednesday March 8

  • 4:10 p.m.- 4:30 p.m. TCU
  • 4:35 p.m. - 4:55 p.m. Oklahoma
  • 5:00 p.m. - 5:20 p.m. Texas Tech
  • 5:25 p.m. - 5:45 p.m. Texas

Thursday, March 9

  • 9:40 a.m.- 10:00 a.m. Iowa State
  • 10:05 a.m. - 10:25 a.m.  Oklahoma State
  • 10:30 a.m. - 10:50 a.m. TCU or Oklahoma
  • 10:55 a.m. - 11:15 a.m. Kansas
  • 4:35 p.m. - 4:55  p.m. Texas Tech or Texas
  • 5:25  p.m. - 5:45  p.m. Kansas State


The Big 12 Game Day Experience will be held outside of the Sprint Center on Grand Boulevard. This free event will feature games, music, giveaways and opportunities to snag and autograph from former hoops stars. 

On Saturday, the Big 12 Run will take place. Runners can participate in the 5K or 12K. 

To register, click here.


Big 12 and Kansas City

In 2015, the Big 12 Conference announced the Championship tournament will be hosted in Kansas City through 2020.

According to Visit KC, the Big 12 tournament is expected to bring millions of dollars to the area. 

As local businesses gear up for the big day, here’s everything you need to know about the tournament. 



The Big 12 Conference is a ten-school athletic conference that was created in 1994. Official competition began in the 1996-1997 season. The Big 12 is the only conference to determine the champions in all sports by playing a full round-robin schedule. 

In the past 20 years of the tournament the following teams have won championships in men's basketball: 

KU: 10

Iowa State: 3

Oklahoma: 3

Oklahoma State: 2

TCU: 0

Texas: 0

Texas Tech: 0

West Virginia: 0

Baylor: 0

Kansas State: 0

The University of Missouri won the tournament twice but are no longer in the Big 12. 





Follow 41 Action News on Twitter:

Like 41 Action News on Facebook:



Print this article Back to Top