FC Kansas City's Becky Sauerbrunn makes Olympic roster; Heather O'Reilly will be an alternate

Posted at 12:27 PM, Jul 12, 2016
and last updated 2016-07-12 13:27:59-04

Two FC Kansas City players are heading to Rio!

Defender Becky Sauerbrunn will be one of 18 players to represent the U.S. Women’s National Team for the 2016 Olympic Games. Heather O’Reilly will also travel to Brazil as an alternate, according to a news release from FC Kansas City.

This is Sauerbrunn’s second Olympic appearance; she played and won the gold medal in 2012. O’Reilly is a three-time gold medalist with titles in 2004, 2008 and 2012, according to the news release.

Here is the full U.S. Olympic Women’s Soccer Team (all nominations are pending approval by the United States Olympic Committee, according to the news release):

GOALKEEPERS (2): Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars), Hope Solo (Seattle Reign FC)

DEFENDERS (6): Whitney Engen (Boston Breakers), Julie Johnston (Chicago Red Stars), Meghan Klingenberg (Portland Thorns FC), Ali Krieger (Washington Spirit), Kelley O’Hara (Sky Blue FC), Becky Sauerbrunn (FC Kansas City)

MIDFIELDERS (6): Morgan Brian (Houston Dash), Tobin Heath (Portland Thorns FC), Lindsey Horan (Portland Thorns FC), Carli Lloyd (Houston Dash), Allie Long (Portland Thorns FC), Megan Rapinoe (Seattle Reign FC)

FORWARDS (4): Crystal Dunn (Washington Spirit), Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride), Christen Press (Chicago Red Stars), Mallory Pugh (Real Colorado)

The U.S. Olympic Women’s Soccer Team has advanced to the gold medal game in every Olympic women’s soccer tournament. The USA won the inaugural gold medal in 1996, the silver in 2000 and the gold in each of the last three tournaments, according to the news release.

FC Kansas City will play one final sendoff match at 8 p.m. on July 22 at Children’s Mercy Park in Kansas City before leaving for Rio.