Pro Football Writers pick Chiefs QB Patrick Mahomes as MVP

Mahomes 2.jpg
Posted at 12:51 PM, Jan 16, 2019
and last updated 2019-01-16 13:58:39-05

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — The Pro Football Writers of America have spoken, and Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes is the NFL’s Most Valuable Player.

Mahomes, who became the second quarterback in NFL history to throw for 5,000 yards and 50 touchdowns in a season (Peyton Manning), also was chosen as the NFL Offensive Player of the Year.

Los Angeles Rams defensive tackle Aaron Donald was the NFL Defensive Player of the Year.

Mahomes is the first Chiefs players to receive the honor. He completed 383 of 580 passes for 5,097 yards with 50 touchdowns and 12 interceptions in leading Kansas City to the AFC West title and No. 1 seed in the playoffs.

The Chiefs host the New England Patriots in the first AFC Championship Game in Arrowhead Stadium history at 5:40 p.m. on Sunday.

Mahomes — who set franchise records for completions, yards, and touchdowns — quarterbacked the Chiefs to the franchise’s first home postseason win in 25 years last weekend, a 31-13 thumping of the Indianapolis Colts in the AFC Divisional playoffs.

Patriots quarterback Tom Brady won the PFWA’s MVP honor last year.

This award is different from The Associated Press award, which will be presented Feb. 2 during the NFL Honors awards banquet in Atlanta.