News

Actions

Seat belt fines triple in Kansas starting on July 1

KSHB-Web_Promo_Image_960x720.png
Posted at 12:38 PM, Jun 30, 2017
and last updated 2017-06-30 13:38:34-04

The fine for not wearing a seat belt in Kansas will increase on July 1. 

The fine will raise to $30, from the $10 it has been since 2011. 

This charge is for the find for those over the age of 18 who are not wearing their seat belts. 

There will be no court costs on the citations for violation of the law, according to a press release from the state highway patrol. 

In 2010, the requirement for adult passengers in the backseat of vehicles must be buckled, but still remains a secondary violation.