NewsCoronavirus

Actions

May 2: Missouri reports more than 100 new COVID-19 cases

KSHB-Web_Promo_Image_960x720.png
Posted at 7:29 AM, May 02, 2020
and last updated 2020-05-03 07:12:26-04

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — The novel coronavirus, or COVID-19, continues to spread across the world, and in Missouri and Kansas.

41 Action News is keeping track of all closings and cancellations, as well as tracking where positive coronavirus cases are located.

We are also keeping track of which metro jurisdictions are under stay at home orders for the foreseeable future, only allowing for essential business and activities.

If you are a business finding unique ways to serve our community, check our KC Open for Business Facebook group to share your ideas.

Updates on the spread of the virus and how it is affecting the metro can be found below for May 2.

6:15 p.m. | Meadow View Health and Rehabilitation in Harrisonville reported that one additional resident and one additional employee have tested positive for COVID-19.

"Of the 10 employees that have tested positive to date, eight are recovering at home and two have returned to work," according to a news release from the facility. Eighteen residents have tested positive, and 14 are in isolation. None of the residents have been hospitalized.

Four residents have died from COVID-19.

3:45 p.m. | Missouri reported more than 100 new cases of COVID-19 throughout the state.

1:15 p.m. | The Kansas Department of Health and Environment is reporting an additional 132 positive cases of COVID-19 throughout the state, bringing the new total to 4,746 cases. Wyandotte County accounts for 45 of those additional cases.

11:15 a.m. | The Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services is now reporting 359 employees and contract workers of Triumph Foods in Buchanan County have received positive results for COVID-19. These people did not show any related symptoms. This is up from 167 positive cases.

10 a.m. | Here are the headlines to get you caught up for Saturday, May 2:

9:45 a.m. | The Kansas Department of Commerce has a live chat feature from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. today and tomorrow for questions about Governor Laura Kelly's reopen Kansas plan.

7:00 a.m. | A local theater is holding a 13-hour fundraiser to help their business during the coronavirus pandemic. Save our Screens starts at 10 a.m. The goal is to help Screenland Armour in North Kansas City.

Previous coverage:
March 2020 updates
Wednesday, April 1
Thursday, April 2
Friday, April 3
Friday, April 3
Saturday, April 4
Monday, April 6
Tuesday, April 7
Wednesday, April 8
Thursday, April 9
Saturday, April 11
Monday, April 13
Tuesday, April 14
Wednesday, April 15
Thursday, April 16
Wednesday, April 15
Friday, April 17
Saturday, April 18
Monday, April 20
Wednesday, April 22
Tuesday, April 21
Wednesday, April 22
Thursday, April 23
Saturday, April 25
Sunday, April 26
Saturday, April 25
Sunday, April 26
Saturday, April 25
Sunday, April 26
Sunday, April 26
Monday, April 27
Tuesday, April 28
Monday, April 27
Tuesday, April 28
Wednesday, April 29
Thursday, April 30
Friday, May 1