Suburban Conference unanimously votes to continue high school fall sports

Conference includes 27 Kansas City schools
Posted at 6:38 PM, Aug 24, 2020
and last updated 2020-08-24 19:38:33-04

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — All 27 member schools in the Greater Kansas City Suburban Conference voted Monday to participate in high school athletics and activities this fall.

That means there will be cross country, girls’ golf, softball, boys’ soccer, boys’ swimming and diving, girls' tennis, volleyball — and, yes, football.

“I am pleased with the outcome of the conference decision, as I feel strongly that the responsible oversight of our member schools will give our student-athletes the best opportunity for safe competition,” Dr. Alan Markley, president of the conference’s board of executive directors, said in a statement announcing the decision.

Each school district will be responsible for drafting and communicating its health and safety guidelines for participation in Missouri State High School Activities Association sports and activities — including cheerleading, music, e-sports and scholar bowl as well as speech, theatre and debate among other programs.

“Roster and attendance limitations will be enforced and will be based on the health department gathering restrictions from the four-county region along with physical distancing requirements based on the host venue,” the Suburban Conference said in its release.

Again, it will be up to individual districts to determine how its schools will adhere to the health department guidelines, which can different greatly between Cass, Clay, Jackson and Platte counties.

The Suburban Conference released its own COVID-19 Recommendations for Athletic Events to aid districts in making decisions about how to safely run practices and have games this fall.

The conference also cautioned that things could change quickly depending on how the pandemic progresses during the coming months.

“This remains an extremely fluid situation and one that has the ability to change over the course of the coming days and weeks,” the Suburban Conference release said. “We are committed to keeping our conference schools updated as we navigate this unique time.”

The Belton, Blue Springs, Fort Osage, Grain Valley, Grandview, Independence, Kearney, Lee’s Summit, North Kansas City, Park Hill, Platte County, Raymore-Peculiar, Raytown and Smithville school districts participate in the Suburban Conference along with Ruskin and St. Joseph Central high schools.