NewsLocal News


Election update: Buckner deadlocks on 1% sales tax

I voted sticker
Posted at 8:26 PM, Nov 05, 2019

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Results are coming in from the various elections held Tuesday across the metro.

In the city of Buckner, 1% sales tax, the proceeds of which would have gone into the city’s general fund, resulted in a tie.

Voters deadlocked at 145 votes on both sides of the issue. There will be a hand recount, but election officials don't expect the result to change. A tie means the measure did not pass.

Buckner Mayor Darrel Box said the city needs "to respect what the voters have put out there."

"They expressed their desire and we need to act accordingly," Box said.

The Buckner city council meets at 6 p.m. on Thursday and will discuss next steps.

Most of the money would have been used to bolster a police department that has been plagued by hiring and retention issues.

The Bucker Police Department accounts for nearly 70% of the city’s $942,000 budget. The rest primarily pays the salaries of Buckner City Hall staff.

In Kansas City, voters approved reverting Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard to being called Paseo Boulevard after voters approved Question 5 on Tuesday by with nearly 70% of the vote. Constituents also approved
removing sections of four parks from theKC Parks system, among other issues.

A 36-acre tract in Hodge Park will be used by the North Kansas City School District for a new school, and a 1.67-acre section of Van Brunt Park will be converted to a playground for a neighboring school.

All 15 acres of Belvidere Park will now be available for development in conjunction with the currently shuttered Chouteau Courts housing project.

Voters also approved allowing residential development on a nearly 1-acre plat just north of Lykin Square Park.

Voters in Missouri House of Representatives District 22 elected Democrat Yolanda Young as Brandon Ellington’s successor after Ellington vacated the position to become a city councilman in Kansas City, Missouri.

Young garnered 82% of the vote. Republican Tammy Louise Herrera received 11% and the Green Party’s Jeff Francis had 7%.

District 36 voters elected Democrat Mark Sharp as DaRon McGee’s successor with 88 percent of the vote. McGee also left the position for another job.

Roberta Voorhees received 12% of the vote.

Both are one-year terms as the seat will again be up for grabs in 2020.

The Unified Government of Wyandotte County and Kansas City, Kansas, had four Commissioners seats up for election. Melissa Brune Bynum secured the 1st district at-large seat with 67% of the vote compared to Mark Gilstrap’s 33%.

Christian Ramirez secured the UG commissioner 3rd district seat with 54 percent of the vote. Ann Murguia garnered 46 percent.

The fourth district UG commissioner seat belongs to Harold Johnson with 68% to Jorge Flores’ 32%.

Lastly, the sixth district commissioner opening went to Angela Markley (64%) over Diana Aguirre (36%).

In the Register of Deeds race, Nancy Burns received 84% of the vote to Tscher Manck’s 16%.

One at-large position and two district positions were up for election on the Board of Public Utilities. Rose Mulvany Henry won the at-large position 3 over David Haley, with a difference of 44 votes.

In BPU’s District 1, Robert Milan earned 52% of the vote against LaRon Thompson, 48%.

Jeff Bryant will represent BPU District 3 after garnering 56% to Stan Frownfelter’s 44%.

Raytown voters chose to extend, by a 4-to-1 margin, the continuation of an 1/8-cent sales tax for parks and stormwater control for another five years.

InClay County, 82 percent of voters approved tighter restrictions for payday loan outfits, including new zoning requirements and fees.

In Lawson, voters decided to raise the age to buy tobacco products from 18 years old to 21.

For results in various other races, including city council and school board races inJohnson County,Leavenworth County andWyandotte County, visit the 41 Action News election results page.