NewsCoronavirus

Actions

Live blog: Amazon worker tests positive for COVID-19

KSHB-Web_Promo_Image_960x720.png
Posted at 10:01 AM, May 03, 2020
and last updated 2020-05-03 17:46:46-04

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — The novel coronavirus, or COVID-19, continues to spread across the world, and in Missouri and Kansas.

41 Action News is keeping track of all closings and cancellations, as well as tracking where positive coronavirus cases are located.

We are also keeping track of which metro jurisdictions are under stay at home orders for the foreseeable future, only allowing for essential business and activities.

If you are a business finding unique ways to serve our community, check our KC Open for Business Facebook group to share your ideas.

Updates on the spread of the virus and how it is affecting the metro can be found below for May 3.

4:45 p.m. | The Missouri Department of Health and Senior Serivces announced that 373 employees and contract workers at a food plant in Buchanan County have tested positive for COVID-19. The workers at Triumph Foods were tested as part of a "sample collection," according to a Missouri DHSS statement, and they presented "no related symptoms" of the virus.

2:51 p.m. | The Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services reports more than 100 new cases of COVID-19 in the state.

12:50 p.m. | A spokesperson for Amazon confirmed to 41 Action News one worker at its fulfillment facility in Kansas City, Kansas, has tested positive for COVID-19.

The spokesperson said the company is "supporting the individual who is recovering" and following health guidelines.

Employees who were in close contact with the person who tested positive have been asked to self-quarantine for 14 days. Those who are quarantined or who test positive will receive up to two weeks of pay.

12:30 p.m. | The Kansas Department of Health and Environment has released the latest number of positive cases of COVID-19. Combined with reports from local health departments, the data shows 246 new cases in the state.

All three Kansas City-area counties saw an increase in cases. Leavenworth County saw the biggest increase with 112 new cases. Wyandotte County increased by 64 and Johnson County increased by 12.

The Kansas City-area as a whole is now at 2,948 cases.

10:15 a.m. | The Kansas City, Missouri Health Department is hiring five temporary positions to join a disease investigation team, to help in the fight against COVID-19. Responsibilities will include contacting and guiding those who have or who may have been exposed to COVID19.

10 a.m. | Just starting your day? We’ve got you covered with a quick look at what you need to know.

Get Caught up: May 3

Previous coverage:
March 2020 updates
Wednesday, April 1
Thursday, April 2
Friday, April 3
Friday, April 3
Saturday, April 4
Monday, April 6
Tuesday, April 7
Wednesday, April 8
Thursday, April 9
Saturday, April 11
Monday, April 13
Tuesday, April 14
Wednesday, April 15
Thursday, April 16
Wednesday, April 15
Friday, April 17
Saturday, April 18
Monday, April 20
Wednesday, April 22
Tuesday, April 21
Wednesday, April 22
Thursday, April 23
Saturday, April 25
Sunday, April 26
Saturday, April 25
Sunday, April 26
Saturday, April 25
Sunday, April 26
Sunday, April 26
Monday, April 27
Tuesday, April 28
Monday, April 27
Tuesday, April 28
Wednesday, April 29
Thursday, April 30
Friday, May 1
Saturday, May 2