NewsLocal News


Temporary office will offer limited driver's license services in Johnson County

Posted at 1:09 PM, Aug 17, 2018
and last updated 2018-08-17 14:09:09-04

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — As construction continues on the third Johnson County driver’s license office, a temporary space at the same location will offer limited driver’s license services beginning next week. 

The temporary space is adjacent to the Department of Revenue Taxpayer Assistance Center at 7600 West 119th Street, Suite A in Overland Park, Kansas, according to the Kansas Department of Revenue. 

The hours for the temporary location beginning Tuesday, Aug. 21 are 7 a.m. to 4:45 p.m. Tuesday through Friday and 7:30 a.m. to 11:15 a.m. Saturdays. 

The temporary office can accommodate five driver’s license examiners who will process all credential transactions except for on the road drive testing. When the permanent office opens in the fall, it will be situated to serve more credential holders and offer on the road drive testing. 

This temporary office comes amid complaints of long wait times at current locations. In July, 41 Action News reported some people waited in line for hours at several Johnson County locations and still never received service. 

The final Monday summer hours for the Johnson County offices in Mission and Olathe will be 7 a.m. to 5:45 p.m. Monday, Aug. 20.